mono lake committee

Board of Directors


Mono Lake Committee Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors are concerned citizens from all corners of California, dedicated to the protection and restoration of Mono Lake and public education about smart resource management. They come from diverse backgrounds and professions and provide overall direction and strategic support for implementing the Committee's mission. The Board meets at least three times a year.

Sally Gaines, Board ChairSally Gaines, Mammoth Lakes—Chair
Sally was a co-founder of the Mono Lake Committee in 1978. She and her late husband David Gaines were the driving force behind the scientific research and advocacy that led to initial protections for Mono Lake. After several years as an integral staff member, Sally became part of the Board and has provided invaluable guidance to the Committee throughout. She is now a retired teacher, and lives in Mammoth Lakes with her husband Rick Kattelmann.

Tom Soto, Board SecretaryTom Soto, Santa Monica—Secretary

Tom is a managing partner and co-founder of Craton Equity Partners, an innovative clean technology private equity firm focused on reducing carbon and responding to climate change. He is a leader in California's Hispanic community and has advised local and national figures from the White House to the City of Los Angeles. Tom says, "Mono Lake stands at the physical and policy intersection of massive environmental questions related to California's future."

David Kanner, Board TreasurerDavid Kanner, Redwood City—Treasurer
David is a former Mono Lake Bike-A-Thon rider (1985–1994) and also a Director of the Boys & Girls Club of the Peninsula. He is a CPA and partner with Seiler & Company, an accounting firm in the Bay Area. David says, "Being involved with the staff and Board is a chance to work with people wo inspire me through their dedication—to Mono Lake, to the bigger ideals it represents, and beyond economic or personal gain."

Martha Davis, Board MemberMartha Davis, Nicasio

Martha is a former Executive Director who led the Committee through all obstacles to the State Water Resources Control Board decision in 1994. That decision gained a large measure of protection for Mono Lake. Today she works as the Executive Manager for Policy Development for the Inland Empire Utilities Agency. Martha says, "When I see the water flowing into Mono Lake and how the lake is rising, I realize how much can be done to restore and preserve our natural resources."

Vireo Gaines, Board MemberVireo Gaines, Bishop
Vireo was born and raised in the Eastern Sierra, and has been actively involved in the Mono Lake story since birth, from modeling for the Newsletter catalog as an infant to working in the bookstore as a teenager. She majored in Environmental Studies at Northern Arizona University. Vireo says, "I have an overwhelming feeling of connectedness to this place. It's not a feeling that I will ever lose. It's not about beauty, curiosity, or interest. Mono Lake is like a family member."

Gina Radieve, Board MemberGina Radieve, Sacramento
Gina works as a Senior Environmental Scientist for the California Department of Water Resources in Sacramento doing environmental planning and compliance coordination for large water infrastructure projects. She holds degrees from Humboldt State University in biology and from Pennsylvania State University in GIS. Gina is a member of the California Native Plant Society and joined the Mono Lake Committee Board of Directors in 2014.


Sherryl Taylor, Board MemberSherryl Taylor, Mammoth Lakes
Sherryl is the President of the local Bristlecone Chapter of the California Native Plant Society. She volunteers at Mono Lake and at the Valentine Eastern Sierra Reserve. Sherryl says, "I believe that experiencing Mono Lake and other wild places inspires awe and respect for the natural world. I believe in the importance for people of all ages to learn about the Mono Basin from passionate and knowledgeable teachers, from effective publications, and purposeful events."

Doug Virtue, Board MemberDoug Virtue, San Pedro

Doug is Executive Vice President of Virco Mfg. Corporation, a leading manufacturer and supplier of equipment for educators. Virco is also a leader in sustainable business practices, having been honored as one of the Environmental Protection Agency's three initial members of the Waste Wise Hall of Fame. Doug has climbed, hiked, and fished throughout the Sierra Nevada and Great Basin. His particular emphasis is on the value of education to help future generations make balanced decisions about sensitive and valuable areas such as the Mono Basin.

Kristine Zeigler, Board MemberKristine Zeigler, Walnut Creek
Kristine currently serves as Chief Development Officer at Conservation International, specializing in foundation grants management, corporate partnerships, and donor relations. She has also worked for the Nature Conservancy, Yosemite Conservancy, Boston Museum of Science, and the San Francisco Zoological Society, honing her development and event planning skills at each organization. Kristine joined the Mono Lake Committee Board of Directors in 2014.

Directors Emeriti
Helen Green
Ed Grosswiler
Richard Lehman

Brent Coeur-Barron, Corporate Counsel

Contact the Mono Lake Committee Board of Directors by email.


Mission Statement

The Mono Lake Committee is a non-profit citizens' group dedicated to:

Protecting and restoring the Mono Basin ecosystem;

educating the public about Mono Lake and the impacts on the environment of excessive water use; and

promoting cooperative solutions that protect Mono Lake and meet real water needs without transferring environmental problems to other areas.



Find us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter


Print this page

search | contact us | site map 

MLC Logo

© 2021 mono lake committee
The Mono Lake Committee is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization.